RSS

Coffee Cup…

30 Jun

As I sit. And sip my coffee
Over forty years gone by
I wonder how I ended up
With the most amazing guy

He sits there looking dashingly
Each line better then the next
Wondering. When our loving journey
Will finally come to rest

I wonder who will be the one
That’s forced to say goodbye
The thought of it concerns my soul
Just as I start to cry

Knowing what I’m thinking
As he’s done so many times before
He reassures we’ll be together
Haunting ever more

-BC

 
22 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Coffee Cup…

  1. speakyoheartup

    June 30, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Oh Sally wht does a good thing have to end? Keep the hope of true love alive and keep on living,keep on loving! I like how affectionate you are with words toward your man. We [women] need to do more of that!

     
  2. slpmartin

    June 30, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Oh my…this one really hit me hard…it captured a fear of mine that at times wakes me in the night…to me a beautiful poem…many thanks for this one.

     
  3. Jingle

    June 30, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    I smell it,
    lovely writing!

     
  4. DiamondsAndDogs

    July 1, 2010 at 1:05 am

    This is very sweet. I hope to find that myself..

     
  5. buttercup600

    July 1, 2010 at 3:39 am

    More people share this fear than they would ever admit. Loved your words so much 🙂

     
  6. fiveloaf

    July 1, 2010 at 6:18 am

    hoho- dangerous thoughts that comes to mine- happens all the time..

     
  7. Amit Khanna

    July 1, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Nice expression! loved the words! and wish you an eternal togetherness…

     
  8. dustus

    July 1, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Last stanza reminds me of Edgar Allen Poe…. Anyway, enjoyed reading it. Lyrically introspective. thanks

     
  9. dustus

    July 1, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    oops…excuse my spelling error

     
  10. Jingle

    July 1, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    are you in Rally week 24?
    is this your entry?

    please let me know!

     
  11. megzone

    July 1, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    awwww…why think sad over a cup of coffee together u shud be enjoyin these moments 😀
    lovely poem 😀

    here from Jingle’s Rally
    you can check my poem at
    http://megzone.wordpress.com/2010/07/01/thursday-poets-rally-footboard-traveller/

     
  12. D.S. Lear

    July 1, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    sweet love..had those same doubts myself..it is such a blessing to be reassured daily..!

     
  13. Kavita

    July 1, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    This is a such a sweet poem! Touching… and very beautiful!
    Never ever worry about losing what you have… just cherish it while you still have it, and love EVERY SINGLE moment of togetherness…
    May you and your husband enjoy a zillion more years of each others’ blissful companionship… Have a fabulous week ahead !!!! And thank you for sharing your thought and words…

     
  14. Spandhanaa

    July 1, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    The fear of loss.. captures the emotion so well.. very nice 🙂

     
  15. adkwriter15

    July 1, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    Such a touching poem that so many people can relate to! Good job!

     
  16. soulintention: signed .............bkm

    July 2, 2010 at 2:13 am

    Well written, and the thought of having to say goodbye….sad indeed..bkm

    http://signedbkm.blogspot.com

     
  17. joan

    July 2, 2010 at 5:37 am

    I adore this poem simply adore it — my father use to write poetry and often would write ones like this to my mother — they were very much in love their whole journey together.

    Beautiful and simple and divine.

    Joanny

     
  18. Emmanuel Ibok

    July 2, 2010 at 10:10 am

    This is so sweet. I wish you both a long time together…maybe till death do you part” (hope i dont sound cliche-ic)

    Nice poem, beautiful, romantic write.

    Cheers!

     
  19. Tim Keeton

    July 2, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Lovely. Thanks for sharing.

    Rhyme on!

    Tim Keeton
    (Undead)Poet / Wizard / Teller-of-tales

     
  20. kelleygrrl

    July 4, 2010 at 2:04 am

    wow, I love this…made tear up a little.

     
  21. Fatesjoke03

    July 6, 2010 at 4:12 am

    Wonderfully expressed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
